Book Review: Loving My Actual Life

Loving My Actual Life: An Experiment in Relishing What’s Right In Front Of Me by Alexandra Kuykendall is an excellent book bringing the reader into the ordinary life of a person looking to make positive changes in their life without making midlife crisis worthy actions.  Too often there are books pushing for radical or unsustainable changes and Loving My Actual Life is a breath of honest fresh air.

loving my lifeThe author doesn’t give the reader a how-to guide (though there are suggestions at the end of each chapter and at the end of the book) and does not come across as having nailed her goal nor failed her goal. Instead, we get a transparent look into the life of a person who learns how to find true rest and growth in the midst of a busy life; and how to give herself grace when things don’t go as planned.

The author’s learning to find quiet through a simple prayer – a breathing prayer – as the first step in her journey likely laid the foundation for the future successes throughout the book and  I would encourage anyone looking to make similar changes to start where the author started in her journey.

I recommend this book to anyone looking to make some changes in a realistic manner.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggers http://www.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.

Leave a Reply

