Book Review: The Road to Becoming

The Road to Becoming: Rediscovering Your Life in the Not-How-I-Planned-It Moments by Jenny Simmons reached out and connected with me. I didn’t know who she was before reading the book and I can’t say that I can relate to her story and its specifics. Yet the feeling of grief and of shattered dreams and the lostness are feelings that echo within my soul.

the road to becomingHer story of brokenness, lostness, grieving, and learning to listen and wait on the Lord to become un-lost and becoming resulting in me putting down the book several times and pondering with the Lord my current journey and life-situation.  I was left thinking about how I tend to try to bury my grief or get over it quickly rather than lean into the lostness and pain to properly grieve.  The stuffing of pain or ignoring it, doesn’t make it go away; rather it just sits there and rots. The author does a good job of baring her soul and her struggles in grieving and then walking with the Lord to properly process and bury it with Him on the road to becoming.

Maybe it is my current life situation and pondering of life not being at all what I imagined that drew me to the grieving sections of the book. Maybe it is that the Lord has led me to be a person who sits with people in their pains, anxieties, and sorrows.  Maybe it is Lord speaking to me to stop, listen, and wait rather than preoccupy myself with “busy and important tasks.” Maybe it is all of the above, or none of the above, or something else.  In the end, I suppose it doesn’t matter the reason, because the Lord tapped me on the heart while reading The Road to Becoming and now it is time for me to talk and walk with Him in this not-how-I-planned-it life.

If you find yourself in a not-how-I-planned-it moment of life or stage of life, pick up the book. Don’t make the mistake of trying to compare your story and grief with the author’s. Instead, explore what the Lord is doing alongside of you in this season of life.

**********

Disclosure: I received this book free from Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggers http://www.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.

One thought on “Book Review: The Road to Becoming

  1. Pingback: Notable Quotables from “The Road to Becoming” | Seth's Oasis

Leave a Reply

