The Twisty Road Ahead

Twisty road

The road of life has taken a few unexpected twists and turns lately.  Some positive and some sorrowful.  In both cases, but more in the latter, I have taken the time to ask the Lord, “What is going on?”

I can’t say that I have received any definite answer.

On Sunday, I got a bit of a response while listening to the Grandview Christian Assembly sermon on Exodus 1 & 2: “Disillusioned – The Early Years of Moses and the Hebrews.”  In the sermon I was reminded that while in pain we tend to, understandably, look at our thimble-sized suffering instead of the Lord Himself, His covenant, and the blessings of the covenant.  Yes, at the moment our pain feels more like an ocean than thimble-sized; yet the truth still remains that relative to the glory that the Lord has for us, even this suffering is light and momentary (2 Corinthians 4:17-18).

Another glimpse of the Lord’s response was when I read the January 12 writings from Jesus Calling by Sarah Young:

Let Me prepare you for the day that stretches out before you.  I know exactly what this day will contain, whereas you have only vague ideas about it.  You would like to see a map, showing all the twists and turns of your journey.  You’d feel more prepared if you could somehow visualize what is on the road ahead.  However, there is a better way to be prepared for whatever you will encounter today: Spend quality time with Me.

I will not show you what is on the road ahead, but I will thoroughly equip you for the journey.  My living Presence is your Companion each step of the way. Stay in continual communication with Me, whispering My Name whenever you need to redirect your thoughts.  Thus, you can walk through this day with your focus on Me.  My abiding Presence is the best road map available. (Exodus 33:14; John 15:4-7)

In here is the ever needed reminder to not try to do life on my own strength and self-will, but to come to Jesus, the Pioneer who has already seen the road ahead and is there for me and with me each step of the way.

Leave a Reply

