Book Review: Not a Chance

Not a ChanceHaving been used to engaging with R.C. Sproul’s theological works, Not a Chance: God, Science, and the Revolt Against Reason was a shock to my senses and expectations.  This is not to say that the book was bad or weird, just different than what I expected from the author.

Though not a long book, Not a Chance is a very heady and dense work.  The author takes the reader through several different areas of science and thought as he systematically dismantles different ways people have historically misused science and/or reason to turn “chance” into a personified power – a power with the ability to create, thus making God irrelevant.

Sproul’s approach was thorough, not at all surprising to me, but at times I have to admit that I got a little lost trying to connect his narrative back to his main thesis.  Part of this is due to the author’s style and part of it is likely due to my wrestling with the nature of the logical arguments.

If you are looking for a thoughtful engagement on the slight of hand that takes “chance” out of it’s definition and makes it into a causal force, this is a good book for you to read.  If you are looking for some light reading or something that you can skim to get the weight of the arguments, then look elsewhere because this book is too dense to be simply skimmed.

Disclosure: I received this book free from Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggers www.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.

Leave a Reply

