Book Review: Chasing God

chasing godWhen I first picked up Chasing God by Angie Smith, I wasn’t sure what I was about to engage.  Would the book be fluff? Would it be telling me to do a bunch of stuff?  Would it tell me not to do anything?  I was skeptical.

It didn’t take long at all for my skepticism to vanish as I read Chasing God.  Yes, the prose and writing style is phenomenal – I adored the ability to get to know the author through her humor, honesty, and skill with the pen (or computer).  Yet, I have read other books with engaging styles that were incredibly ungodly and down right anti-Christian.

Angie Smith amazing not only with writing style but with content.  She exposes our “chasing” heart when we are trying to get God to play by our rules and our expectations.  She unlocks our fear of gray when we attempt to make everything black and white; and our attempts to hide in the grey when God is being black and white.

I particularly enjoyed the way Chasing God nailed my lame excuses of being too busy to have a quality time of meditating on the Word with the Lord – which is actually my favorite way of spending time with Him.  The author’s honesty of her own conviction and her processing through the situation with the Lord was extremely helpful.

If you are looking for a solid book that is also enjoyable to read, even in the times when we want to skip over the pages where the light is shining most brightly – grab a copy of Chasing God.

Disclosure: I received this book free from B&H Publishers Baker Books through the Baker Books Bloggerswww.bakerbooks.com/bakerbooksbloggers program [I apologize for initially putting down the incorrect publisher]. The opinions I have expressed are my own, and I was not required to write a positive review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html.

Leave a Reply

