Jesus said, “I will build my church,” but He Didn’t Say Anything About Yours

Great thoughts from Bareknuckle.org

Bareknuckle Bible

Hard Times cover for blog

My church is the one in the church planting books. At least that’s what I want it to be. It “launches large” and grows, quickly reaching peak numbers. Finances, volunteers, and the general constellation of concerns that go with a new plant gets solved with prayer and elbow grease. Sweet. I’ll have a church that runs like a Rolex by sticking to well-worn recipes. Everybody knows what that involves—the right mix of servant evangelism, social awareness, phrase by phrase expositions of the Bible (or relevant topics), the right facility, location, number of parking slots, marketing, coffee, art pieces, technology, band, and workable ratio of cool people to nerds.

That is my church. I’ve read about it and want it. In fact, I want it so badly that when I look at the church the Lord is actually building around me, I still only manage to see the one in my…

View original post 1,121 more words

Leave a Reply

