Non-Gullible Faith

Bareknuckle Bible

brain

On this last Saturday, thirty years ago, I believed in Jesus Christ as Lord and Savior. For decades I gingerly poked and prodded my new faith, examining it from multiple directions. It was like the forty days when the resurrected Jesus presented Himself alive to the disciples “by many proofs” (Acts 1:3). Doubt wasn’t the most serious issue with me. I was mainly curious about how the Bible would stand up when it was challenged. So I brought a lot of questions to the table—philosophical, psychological, scientific, and historical. I’ve wondered about the phenomenon of being born again and have tracked it from emotional and sociological perspectives. I’ve read nasty, vitriolic works from non-theists that occasionally scored points I had to ponder. I’ve also read piles (literally) of Christian responses that in some cases would satisfy the burden of proof in any court.

I’m not sure what has given the impression that Christians are…

View original post 616 more words

Leave a Reply

