Why Are You Cast Down, O My Soul?

Why are you cast down, O my soul,
And why are you in turmoil within me?
Hope in God; for I shall again praise Him,
My salvation and my God.
Psalm 42:11 & 43:5

Life has gotten incredibly busy.  Full time ministry.  Full time graduate school (5 classes per quarter). Full time married.  Needless to say, it has been easy to feel overwhelmed and an inability to do anything as well as I think it should be done.

Sensing the water level of life rise up and over my nose can be anxiety inducing.  In the midst of the turmoil I often have the reflex of “I should pray and talk to God about this.”  But it is amazing how quickly the reflex is submerged as just another thing to do on my list that I don’t have time for right now.

It appears that the Psalmist had a similar thought.  The difference in Psalm 42 and Psalm 43 and what can be my experience is that the psalmist brought the prayer and praise back out from under the depths to hold onto the hope found in the Lord.  When I imitate the psalmist I have the same experience.  I find hope in Christ.  I find salvation in Christ.  I am able to praise Him in the midst of the turmoil.  My schedule does not miraculously empty and the demands of life do not suddenly disappear.  Yet there is a reduction of stress because it is no longer me treading water by my own energy in the midst of the storms of life.  Instead, I am riding through the stormy seas in the shelter of the vessel of Jesus Christ.  He is doing the floating and the uplifting while the storms of life rage.

Leave a Reply

