The Fatherhood of God

Living in the present reality of God as Father will radically change your view of the Christian life. I’m in process on this. I can’t say I’ve completely got it. But I’m learning to view my obedience and my struggle with sin through the lens of being a child of God. I have a Father in heaven who has promised to give me his Holy Spirit (Luke 11:11-13). He’s promised to provide me with all the power I need to obey him (2 Peter 1:3).

Holiness is just not a list of rules. It’s about imitating my Father (1 Peter 1:15-16).  He is loving, he is kind, he is pure, he is truthful, he is patient, and he is gentle. And because I’m his kid, I want to look like him and please him.

Turning away from sin isn’t about what I’m not allowed to do. I don’t want what displeases my Father. I want to love what he loves. How can I take joy in what grieves the One who has loved me with everlasting love (Jeremiah 31:3)?

Righteousness in relationship is what pleases my Father. I’m not trying to live up to some church standard of self-imposed standard. I want to grow in honoring and knowing and blessing the heart of my Father.

The truth of God’s adopting love for me means I’m not obeying to get into his family or even to stay in the club. I obey because I’m already in. Because of Jesus, I’m family. There’s incredible safety in that.

-Joshua Harris (Dug Down Deep p 173)

Leave a Reply

