Being the Body of Christ

“But God has put the body together…that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.” 1 Corinthians 12:24-26

Over the past few months I have come to appreciate the body of Christ to a higher extent.  I am generally an independent and self-reliant person.  The thought of receiving or asking help from others is difficult for me.  It is an area of ego that the Lord has been faithful to chip away at over the years.  He has arranged several different situations in my life that have caused me to check my pride and ego at the door, come to Him in a humble manner, and learn how to find support in His body.  As I have come to the body of Christ I have found great support and blessing rather than any sense of shame that my pride & ego told me that I would find.  I have discovered that love that comes from others weeping and rejoicing with me.

When we check our egos at the door, go to the Christians around us – allowing them to truly be the body of Christ to us – there is a mutual benefit.  We get the help, support, and love and the others get the opportunity to minister Christ to us.  Both aspects are beneficial and can have powerful results.

Leave a Reply

